Exam revisers get a free Basic plan with some AI cards, and Pro is $7.99 a month billed yearly.

Kenning's take

What it does

A flashcard app built on spaced repetition and active recall: learners rate their confidence on each card and the app decides when to show it again. Cards can be typed, imported or made by AI from notes, PDFs and images, and there is a large library of expert-made decks for exams and languages.

  • spaced repetition based on confidence ratings
  • AI flashcard creation from notes, PDFs, images and text
  • millions of expert-certified flashcards
  • import existing flashcards
  • share decks with classmates or students
  • A-Level and GCSE revision decks

Who it suits. Students and professionals revising for exams who want an app to schedule their flashcard reviews.

Key facts

Made by
Bold Learning Solutions, Inc. (Brainscape)
Based in
United States
Works on
iPhone, Android, Web
In the UK
Yes
Free plan
Basic plan free forever: unlimited typed flashcards, some AI card creation, spaced repetition and study of own and shared decks

Pricing

PlanPriceBilled
Pro$7.99month
Brainscape Pro (UK App Store)£17.49Not stated
Brainscape Pro (UK App Store)£83.99Not stated
Brainscape Pro Lifetime£199.99one-off

source

Ratings

Reviews and write-ups

FAQ

Is Brainscape free?

Yes, the Basic plan is free forever. Pro is $7.99 a month billed yearly on brainscape.com, and Pro is also sold in the UK App Store.

Can Brainscape make flashcards with AI?

Yes. It can create flashcards from notes, PDFs, images and text; the free plan has a limit and Pro removes it.

Who makes Brainscape?

Bold Learning Solutions, Inc., based in New York, United States.

Facts from the maker's own pages and the sources listed. Checked 2026-10-11.